Mid Year Book Freak Out Tag

17fatbooks-mobileMasterAt3x.jpg

We are half-way through 2020 and I am still the following:

  • Still in quarantine (yes, Philippines gets the gold medal for the longest quarantine)
  • Getting my Goodreads reading challenge-ass kicked (I have only read 11 books, but I am catching up!)
  • Still the lazy ass blogger that I was back in 2015.

Anyho! I saw this tag going around the Booktube community and thought to myself, “Why not do this in my blog since I have no idea what to post next!“. So here is my Mid year Book Freak out.

1. Best book you’ve read so far in 2020.

Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton

18166936

Full review!

2. Best sequel you’ve read so far in 2020.

This goes to The Wicked King and The Queen of Nothing. I am so glad that I decided to continue on with this series. If you want to know my thoughts about this book go check out my review!

3. New release you haven’t read yet, but want to.

This is not a new release but I recently purchased it (Ha, ha- who says I can’t bend a prompt?) . I am excited on reading Foundryside by Robert Jackson Benett and City of Brass by S.A. Chakraborty.

4. Most anticipated release for the second half of the year.

Who is excited for this too?

5. Biggest disappointment.

An Enchantment of Ravens by Margaret Rogerson

30969741._SY475_.jpg

This book is definitely not for me. It was something I did not expect with how the plot went. I wished there was more politics, drama and like anything besides the cringey love story between the two main characters.

AdolescentDiscreteArabianhorse-size_restricted

6. Biggest surprise.

The Wicked King by Holly Black

26032887._SY475_

Definetely was not excepting this one. I was kinda letdown with the pacing of The Cruel Prince, but this one was different. This was way better, and the characters? I did care more for them in the second book than the first.

7. Favourite new author. (Debut or new to you)

Madeline Miller.

I love how Madeline Miller writes her prose. And that is saying something since I have only read one publsihed work from her. I know I am not the only one who love her writing.

8. Newest fictional crush.

tenor.gif

9. Newest favourite character.

None. Ghad, this is what reading 11 books in the first half of the year gives you. No favorite character to root for.

giphy.gif

10. Book that made you cry.

The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold

12232938.jpg

I watched the movie before and I cried. I read the book this year and I cried.

tenor (1)

11. Book that made you happy.

Pretty covers make me happy. And books with pretty covers make me happy.

12. Most beautiful book you’ve bought so far this year (or received)

Circe by Madeline Miller

32993458._SY475_

Look how pretty this edition is! I just cant with how this is beautiful. This is the best purchase I ever made so far this year.

13. What books do you need to read by the end of the year?

Coming from someone who has to spend the rest of the year reviewing for her board exam, I do have a lot of guts listing a lot of books to read.  That Brent Weeks’ complete trilogy will haunt me until 2030 so don’t hold me up on it, I know I won’t be finishing it this year.

giphy.gif

14. Favourite Book Community Member

I love you all and you are al my favorite!

watercolor_arrow_800-f.jpg

Are having a book freakout too this year? I am curious on how you’re doing in your 2020 Goodreads challenge.

2 thoughts on “Mid Year Book Freak Out Tag

  1. aubreyjdickens says:

    I LOVE Madeline Miller. And you should definitely read A Darker Shade of Magic. I just finished it and feel very emotionally invested. Ready to spread the good word of V.E. Schwab.

    Like

Leave a comment