The Folk of Air Trilogy| How I discovered my love for fairies

As always — spoilers ahead.

THE FOLK OF AIR TRILOGY by Holly Black

Publisher: Little Brown Books

Source: Purchased

SHELVE IT TO GOODREADS

Of course I want to be like them. They’re beautiful as blades forged in some divine fire. They will live forever.

And Cardan is even more beautiful than the rest. I hate him more than all the others. I hate him so much that sometimes when I look at him, I can hardly breathe.

Jude was seven when her parents were murdered and she and her two sisters were stolen away to live in the treacherous High Court of Faerie. Ten years later, Jude wants nothing more than to belong there, despite her mortality. But many of the fey despise humans. Especially Prince Cardan, the youngest and wickedest son of the High King.

To win a place at the Court, she must defy him–and face the consequences.

As Jude becomes more deeply embroiled in palace intrigues and deceptions, she discovers her own capacity for trickery and bloodshed. But as betrayal threatens to drown the Courts of Faerie in violence, Jude will need to risk her life in a dangerous alliance to save her sisters, and Faerie itself.

lets

The hype around The Cruel Prince was what made me spend an obscene amount of money for a hardback last 2018. Everyone was just loving the hate to tolerating each other relationship between Jude and Cardan. And here I was, trying to make myself love it. I have to admit, the pacing of the first book was the reason I was so hesitant about finishing it or even picking up the other 2 books. I find the exposition and secrets revealed in the first book to be lackluster and I just don’t care about it. I made myself finished it because I was going on a signing featuring Cassandra Clare and Holly Black.

monica-borg-asset.jpg

Artwork by Monica Borg

However, my love for Jude Duarte was all but boring. Never have I ever related to a character, albeit, I am not a human in the fey world. (I wish).  She is one of my favorite characters of 2019.

Going into The Wicked King was a chore. I already bought the book when I attended the signing so I might as well read it after finishing Cruel Prince. But no! I have to let it sit and stew in my bookshelves for a year before even think of reading it. Boy, oh boy, my flat ass sure was surprised when I finished it. The Wicked King is the best book in this trilogy and I WOULD FUCKING DIE FOR IT! The political drama and intrigue that this book contains were interesting. The characters are well fleshed out. And Jude Duarte can kick my ass thank you very much.

The Queen of Nothing was a hella delicious ending to a great trilogy. It is also my favorite book cover of 2020. I  was never a huge fan of fairy focus books, but this changes the whole game! The characters are well developed. The political intrigue and family drama is dang entertaining. And Cardan? Cardan is that precious little flower with the jawline that can melt me. My dear boy.

9fbc7c0da9081f05d3f9e53e094811eb

Artwork by Marianne Martin

Holly Black, you are now my favorite fey book author. Take my money, just take it all! 

giphy.gif

 

rating-1

4

Have you read The Folk of Air Trilogy? What are your thoughts about it? Share it down the comments!

One thought on “The Folk of Air Trilogy| How I discovered my love for fairies

Leave a comment