How I was magically and emotionally manipulated by The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender

(This is probably the first time I wrote a non-spoiler review)

18166936The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton

Pages: 301

Format: Paperback

Publisher: Candlewick Press

Publishing date: March 2014

Source: Purchased

SHELVED IT TO GOODREADS

Magical realism, lyrical prose, and the pain and passion of human love haunt this hypnotic generational saga.

Foolish love appears to be the Roux family birthright, an ominous forecast for its most recent progeny, Ava Lavender. Ava—in all other ways a normal girl—is born with the wings of a bird.

In a quest to understand her peculiar disposition and a growing desire to fit in with her peers, sixteen-year old Ava ventures into the wider world, ill-prepared for what she might discover and naïve to the twisted motives of others. Others like the pious Nathaniel Sorrows, who mistakes Ava for an angel and whose obsession with her grows until the night of the Summer Solstice celebration.

That night, the skies open up, rain and feathers fill the air, and Ava’s quest and her family’s saga build to a devastating crescendo.

lets

I read this book back when I hilariously attempted (a self-acknowledged fact that I cannot maintain this challenge for a week) of reading a book a day for a week. And to be honest, I did not push through with the challenge. Yeah, yeah me being me. Again.

This may be one of the few books I read that I have fallen in love with the writing style of the author. With 301 pages, the plot and the characters I think are all fleshed out. The palpable emotions of the narrator, Ava Lavender, as she narrates the sorrowful and strange life the women in her life went through.

I LOVE THE BEAUTIFUL PROSE LESLY WALTON WROTE. 

I really do miss that feeling when you finish a really go book in one sitting. When you just sat there, closing it and realizing that it’s already dark and you need food. Cause that was me three weeks ago, a heap of mess after the ending devastated me. And I wish you will feel the same after you read this.

9203067

 

rating-1

5

 

 

One thought on “How I was magically and emotionally manipulated by The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender

Leave a comment