An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir | More than 400 pages of awesomeness

Hazah! Hello book warriors and welcome to another book review courtesy of yours truly. *insert cutesy happy music*                                                 As always, review may contain some spoilers.

23569524.jpgAn Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir Pages: 446                        Format: Hardcover                                 Source: Purchased

Laia is a slave. Elias is a soldier. Neither is free.  
Under the Martial Empire, defiance is met with death. Those who do not vow their blood and bodies to the Emperor risk the execution of their loved ones and the destruction of all they hold dear. 
It is in this brutal world, inspired by ancient Rome, that Laia lives with her grandparents and older brother. The family ekes out an existence in the Empire’s impoverished backstreets. They do not challenge the Empire. They’ve seen what happens to those who do. 
But when Laia’s brother is arrested for treason, Laia is forced to make a decision. In exchange for help from rebels who promise to rescue her brother, she will risk her life to spy for them from within the Empire’s greatest military academy. 
There, Laia meets Elias, the school’s finest soldier—and secretly, its most unwilling. Elias wants only to be free of the tyranny he’s being trained to enforce. He and Laia will soon realize that their destinies are intertwined—and that their choices will change the fate of the Empire itself.

watercolor_arrow_800-f

How many books have I been throwing 5-stars so far this year?  I feel like this year so far has been the greatest year for reading (for me) because (1.) I am enjoying 4 month-long vacation from college (2.) since I gone mad last year and purchase a lot of books which I ended up piling (because studying Veterinary Medicine has suck the living reading soul out of me), I threading through them slowly and those book were just as good as I though back when I purchase them, and (3.) My mind for the last 2 months are fueled with reading books, marathoning television series that I’ve missed and throwing shade as out country’s elections neared. So yes, I’ve been devoting so much time and effort this summer as opposed to how much I give shit on my studies.  Just inspiring.

I feel like Oprah: “You get 5-stars” “5stars for you too!”

giphy (1).gif

So on with the book!

The hype around this book last year was big. Literally, BookTube reviews and talk and whatnots were flooding through YouTube, and this may also be the reason on why I was on the fence with reading this. (Because how many times have we been victims of the hype?) But being an imbecile as always, I ended up buying it a month later after it’s release, store it inside the closet I call a bookshelf back in my dorm and never even decided to pick it up until now. AND NOW I CAN TESTIFY (without being bribe) THAT THIS BOOK LIVE UP TO THE HYPE.

summarizing

This book is told in two point-of-views one of which is from Laia a young scholar who became a slave in order to save her brother and the other, Elias a soldier. Both will do anything to be free from the Empire.

*So where to begin?* 

(I am trying to sound as cohesive as I can but the ~FEELS~)

I did not expect that to happen. I was drowning with good character development and it feels so good (this after reading a book with the lack of character development through out it). Laia is not your typical herione, she’s not a bad-ass or even know how to properly hold a knife in combat. She basically survive the whole book with her trusting her gut and instinct, which is great.

I was emotionally invested to the characters and the plot itself. i.e (a.) Me being afraid for Laia every time she spies at the Commandant (she’s a real bitch) (b.) Me being afraid for Laia every time she sneaks out (c.) Me being afraid for Helene (Marcus is a real douche) especially now she’s named as Marcus’s Blood Shriek (d.) I feel pity to every Scholar and slave that have been mentioned through out the book (e.) I cried (I can’t control the waterworks) during the Third Trial (ALL THOSE DEAD PEOPLE!)

tumblr_nl1xygtOtX1qcm3fwo1_400.gif

The plot was on point. It’s fast-paced, and just plain nasty. Brutality is featured in the book (i.e me lamenting with the deaths), there was child abuse,slavery and the (plainly and distasteful) rape. (which was fine since the novel’s world-building is base with Rome)

This is the kind of book that give me trust issues. It’s making me question the intentions with anyone coming near Laia- even question the intentions of the Augurs (Sidenote: How do you pronounce this? Like Ogre?) 

All-in-all it was one awesome ride read. Solid plot points and subplots, great character development. You won’t even mind the love triangle (or was it a square) since the plot is to engrossing. It is surely a book you can’t put down (and want to reread after).

arrow-illustration-31    I would thank myself for buying the book and finally deciding to read it.

5

Have you read the book? Are you excited for it’s sequel to be release? (Because I am!) Let’s talk, gush and vent our fangirl feels at the comment section!

 

You have my permission to stalk me at the following social media outlets!

Twitter | Goodreads | Instagram

 

2 thoughts on “An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir | More than 400 pages of awesomeness

Leave a Reply

