{Book Talk} Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo (Six of Crow #2)

22299763.jpgCROOKED KINGDOM BY LEIGH BARDUGO  Pages: 448                        Publisher: Orion Children’s Books        Expected publishing date: September 27, 2016

Kaz Brekker and his crew have just pulled off a heist so daring even they didn’t think they’d survive. But instead of divvying up a fat reward, they’re right back to fighting for their lives. Double-crossed and left crippled by the kidnapping of a valuable team member, the crew is low on resources, allies, and hope. As powerful forces from around the world descend on Ketterdam to root out the secrets of the dangerous drug known as jurda parem, old rivals and new enemies emerge to challenge Kaz’s cunning and test the team’s fragile loyalties. A war will be waged on the city’s dark and twisting streets―a battle for revenge and redemption that will decide the fate of magic in the Grisha world.

PREODER THE BOOK NOW: BookDepository | Amazon

No mourners. No funerals – Kaz Brekker

watercolor_arrow_800-f.jpg

Can I get confetti over here?  This duology deserves it.

Now, if you are asking if should you value my opinion since, (1.) I have only read the first one and (2.) the second book is yet to come? My answer is yes. (Because I just said so)

If you saw and read my review ( I rated it 5 Hodor heads), you would understand why.

watercolor_arrow_800-f                                                                            CHARACTERS

Bardugos’characters have been the main reason why I have love the book so much (i.e. fangirling about it, shove-it-to-your-throat recommending to my friends, begged my book and real-life bff to read it so we can fangirl together) Thankfully, my bookhangover was short (pweh!)

Everyone’s banters are just on fleek! But sometimes there few point s in the book where you yourself would want to end their lives because of the denials (of feelings) among your ships.

Image via book reaction of Lucia

They all are flawed and imperfect in their own way, and that what makes them real and human (but that just me). They all have great backstories from the first book, and from that standpoint a lot could arise (secrets to divulge) for each of them.

P.S. I hope all my ships will finally sail.

tumblr_nobhbfnpkF1qlgbzbo1_500.gifImage via Google

watercolor_arrow_800-f                                                                           WORLD-BUILDING

I guess not everyone will be including this. Full disclosure: I have not read and probably will not really the Grisha Trilogy (I just heard a lot of not so great things with its final book– it’s probably suffering the same case with The Retribution of Mara Dyer).

But to me (a Grisha Trilogy non reader) the world-building hit me with a bag full of epicness. The world’s description if so on point that it fueled my imagination. ( Yah get it?)

P.S. I also like and appreciate books with maps especially those  fantasy/high-fantasy genre

watercolor_arrow_800-f

                          About the Author                                                           lb-headshot-350.png

Leigh Bardugo is the #1 New York Times bestselling and USA Today bestselling author of Six of Crows (awarded starred reviews from Kirkus, Publishers Weekly, VOYA, SLJ, and the BCCB) and the Grisha Trilogy: Shadow and Bone, Siege and Storm, and Ruin and Rising. She was born in Jerusalem, grew up in Los Angeles, graduated from Yale University, and has worked in advertising, journalism, and most recently, makeup and special effects. These days, she lives and writes in Hollywood where she can occasionally be heard singing with her band.

Visit her: BLOG | GRISHA UNIVERSE

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

