Throne of Glass | Assassins, Hot dudes, & Magic

23599075

Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas Format: Paperback                             Pages:404                                     Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Children’s                                     Source: Purchased

After serving out a year of hard labor in the salt mines of Endovier for her crimes, 18-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien is dragged before the Crown Prince. Prince Dorian offers her her freedom on one condition: she must act as his champion in a competition to find a new royal assassin.

Her opponents are men-thieves and assassins and warriors from across the empire, each sponsored by a member of the king’s council. If she beats her opponents in a series of eliminations, she’ll serve the kingdom for four years and then be granted her freedom. Celaena finds her training sessions with the captain of the guard, Westfall, challenging and exhilirating. But she’s bored stiff by court life. Things get a little more interesting when the prince starts to show interest in her… but it’s the gruff Captain Westfall who seems to understand her best.

Then one of the other contestants turns up dead… quickly followed by another. Can Celaena figure out who the killer is before she becomes a victim? As the young assassin investigates, her search leads her to discover a greater destiny than she could possibly have imagined.

Arrow-Illustration-3thoughts

I have this condition called, buying a book on it’s release and read it a year after purchasing. (Do you also have that?) It’s not like my tbr pile height is the same with the Eiffel Tower or any of the pyramids of Egypt is it just that, when I bought a book with a very very very big hype around it I usually put it off (Like what I am doing with Lady Midnight rn) not because I have lost interest – but I am too afraid to pick it up because of the hype. Yah get me? Was the clear?

And one of the victims was the Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas. I’ve attempted to read it when my copy arrived, but I dnfed it. (Please don’t stone me to death) The wonderful thing was after probably 2 years now, I’ve given a friend of mine  a copy since the kind of books she reads usually have the same plot like ToG (bad-ass females and hot dudes!), and she loved it (love would be an understatement, since she shove the book down my throat just to make me try to read it again).  And here I am babbling about how I have read a book I dnfed and now loving it (fangirling really). You must be hear for the review and now I am giving to you.

yass

240_F_101554532_82hl7hEpJqlUECpPUYTagMlASHcQdbtbHere’s a trope in YA that I could never hate – GREAT BAD-ASS FEMALE LEADS! 

I envision myself wielding a bad-ass sword, jumping tall heights, shooting long range with bow and arrow and of course sassy at any cause. Who wouldn’t? Me and my book and real life bbf like are females that way. And Celaena Sardothein made our cuts. Celaena is a mixed of witty, sassy and just a whole lot of badassery, and we both love her!

Here’s another thing we like about her. She’s feels human to us. She has her imperfections, she still feels fear (even if she’s the most wanted Assassin in their wold). Yey to great female leads! (ALSO SHE HAS A PUPPY!)

tumblr_m6u4ktrwtm1r50mmk

240_F_101554532_82hl7hEpJqlUECpPUYTagMlASHcQdbtb

It’s not drowning with love-triangle sheninigans (Bless, Sarah’s heart). Still there are two hot guys in the book, one clearly showed affection and the other makes me feel like being stalk (Yes, I mean Chaol), but Celaena is not clamoring both at the same time. (Blessed Sarah’s heart again!) I think her feelings toward Chaol is more on the friendlier and platonic relationship as to compare with Dorian. (Wow, I am spoiling too much)

240_F_101554532_82hl7hEpJqlUECpPUYTagMlASHcQdbtb

Red tide

Finally a book featuring the struggles of being a chick. It feels great, that Aldran’s greatest assassin also feels the agony of menstral  cramps. (Thank you Sarah J. Maas!)meeeh

240_F_101554532_82hl7hEpJqlUECpPUYTagMlASHcQdbtb
Now since I hadn’t finish it the first time. One of the biggest qualms I have with the book is the writing. Or maybe it’s just me losing interest. (Sometimes never trust my opinions, trust me.) Or it could also be because, I was suffering a mild case of book hangover.

 

240_F_101554532_82hl7hEpJqlUECpPUYTagMlASHcQdbtb

This is probably the biggest  meeeh point for me. So I have read the Poison Study earlier this year and there are certain points with ToG similar with PS. (a) Magic is prohibited (b) a someone all-powerful conquered the whole continent and banned magic (c) criminal-turned slaves given a chance for freedom.

 

RachelBilson

Yeah. But maybe its just the first book. I have yet to see and read the rest of the series.

arrow-illustration-31.jpg

4

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

