Book Review | Teens who didn’t follow the rules and end up being dead

25897757.jpg

The May Queen Murders by Sarah Jude Format: e-ARC                               Publishing date : May 3, 2016      Source: Netgalley

Stay on the roads. Don’t enter the woods. Never go out at night.

Those are the rules in Rowan’s Glen, a remote farming community in the Missouri Ozarks where Ivy Templeton’s family has lived for centuries. It’s an old-fashioned way of life, full of superstition and traditions, and sixteen-year-old Ivy loves it. The other kids at school may think the Glen kids are weird, but Ivy doesn’t care—she has her cousin Heather as her best friend. The two girls share everything with each other—or so Ivy thinks. When Heather goes missing after a May Day celebration, Ivy discovers that both her best friend and her beloved hometown are as full of secrets as the woods that surround them.

summarizing

Don’t you effing dare read this in the dark! It was not that dark when I read it but it still creeps the bed bugs outta my bed. (I don’t have bed bugs though, thank goodness). I have never though that I would be enjoying it ( nope, not the murders and mutilations that I have read *Spoiler alert*) Mostly when I got approve on Netgalley, it is usually books with authors I am not familiar with, and turns out I hardly had enough interest to pursue reading the books. But this! THIS is a good book!  This is mystery, thriller, suspense and it screams bloodly murder just with the title

tumblr_m7dll7MNUw1qffdd7

and of course the cover is a thing of a beauty! The pink and the girl at the middle is really working on me.

tumblr_m6u4ktrwtm1r50mmk

yass

240_F_101554532_82hl7hEpJqlUECpPUYTagMlASHcQdbtb

Plot wise the book was great, it was fast-paced. It doesn’t dwell on space-filler (which sometime annoy me much when reading). It really does go direct to the point when it comes to serving it’s plot.

 

240_F_101554532_82hl7hEpJqlUECpPUYTagMlASHcQdbtb

There is no insta-love! Thank goodness. So far from the books that I have read (since reading The Jewel and the Beginning of Everything) (this also meant that I have only read 2 books so far this April *cue in sad music*) I am weaving my way to 2016 trying to stealthy dodging books with the case of insta-love, and this one is INSTA-LOVE FREE.

 

240_F_101554532_82hl7hEpJqlUECpPUYTagMlASHcQdbtb

 

Diversity. There is a good amount of diversity in this book.

 

 

240_F_101554532_82hl7hEpJqlUECpPUYTagMlASHcQdbtb

 

You never saw that ending coming. Here the good thing about this book, you assumed a certain guess on how would this book end but guess what you are wrong.

tumblr_inline_n5clvxEJ5s1r64lal

meeeh

  1. The stammering. Ivy has a bad case of stammering when she is nervous, or sometimes panicking seldomly happening withe no right reason.
  2. Heather annoys me to the level of me hating her is just hating her. I wasn’t even happy about *spoiler* her trying to protect Ivy. Because come on! *I can’t spoil this for you anymore* It maybe part of the charm of the book for some but for me, meeeh.
  3. Although the book was fast-paced. There are still plot-points that I think are not necessary for for the build-up of the story. Sometimes it kind of give away the plot to early, but atleast it never gave away the ending, too early.

arrow-illustration-31

Thank you NetGalley and the publisher for giving me an eARC for this book.

3.5

Leave a Reply

