Book Review: You by Caroline Kepnes (SPOILERS!)

20821614

piders

When a beautiful, aspiring writer strides into the East Village bookstore where Joe Goldberg works, he does what anyone would do: he Googles the name on her credit card.

There is only one Guinevere Beck in New York City. She has a public Facebook account and Tweets incessantly, telling Joe everything he needs to know: she is simply Beck to her friends, she went to Brown University, she lives on Bank Street, and she’ll be at a bar in Brooklyn tonight—the perfect place for a “chance” meeting.

As Joe invisibly and obsessively takes control of Beck’s life, he orchestrates a series of events to ensure Beck finds herself in his waiting arms. Moving from stalker to boyfriend, Joe transforms himself into Beck’s perfect man, all while quietly removing the obstacles that stand in their way—even if it means murder.

thoughts

Wohh, I didn’t see that coming. And I can’t still stop thinking about it, even if I read the book last last week and I just now decided that it was good that it needs to have it’s own review rather than be on my wrap-up for January.

You is written in second person, it sounds more like a letter for the girl and not merely thoughts of a guy.

You have been a thrilling ride both in a good way and not.

yass

If Joe wasn’t to extreme on being a stalker, I would say that he is an ideal book boyfriend but then again there is this factor that he could not be because he may have the tendency *spoilers* to kill my best friend or all my non-existent ex-boyfriends. I  must say that there is a lot of character development on Joe it may not seem it, but it was there. He got more and more creep as the novel progress and I must say I didn’t expect the twist in the end.

The plot was awesome, it was just at the right pace for me, thrilling and tantalizing and it was full of twist.

meeeh

Oh, Beck who I don’t give a damn about. Yes, I don’t like Beck. And heck yes, I don’t feel sorry for what happened to her. Even to the people around her. She put that to herself. She leads people on. In the end I was happy on her demise.

The whole time she does a single thing in the whole novel, all I can just say is:

tumblr_m7uu0eXnsd1rry9ec

Arrow-Illustration-3

HODOR RATES!

5

Leave a Reply

