Book Review: A Reaper of Stone

26721866

A Lady is dead. Her noble line ended. And the King’s Reaper has come to reclaim her land and her home. In the marches of Aedaron, only one thing is for certain. All keeps of the old world must fall.

Elinor struggles to find her place in the new world. She once dreamed of great things. Of becoming a hero in the ways of the old world. But now she is a Reaper. And her duty is clear. Destroy the old. Herald the new.

thoughts

Let me thank you NetGalley and the publisher from giving me a free copy of the book.

It was exhausting, not because of reading but because of the lack of pages and the chance of the author to prove something from the premise of the book. Such a waste of potential honestly.

yass

I can’t write as much as I want in this segment. As much as I love to love this book, like those others that reviewed it, but I can’t. I am justing putting up this Yaass point segment out of respect.

meeeh

britney-confused-gif

I feel like Brit-brit. Other reviewers who read this would probably stone me to death right now, but I have to be honest.

  1. Lack of depth. There is literally nothing that wants me to jump in and be inside the book or be anyone in the book. Again, there is a lot of potential in the premise, but it was too fast-faced like for me it just happened in a span of 2 days. (Or did it?)
  2. Character development. Meeh I was expecting a really really cool female herion, instead I got a one-dimensional character. I was expecting more of her bad-assness after her great introduction, but along the way she was just a plain old bread at the pantry.
  3. I don’t know how you can pull off a high fantasy book with a merger page of 77 on kindle. Because I can not get inside the world after reading 77 pages.

I feel like this was written on a whim and it resulted poorly. It such a waste of potential and money if you actually both this book. I hope it’ll make it up for the second book in the series.

arrow-illustration-31

2

Leave a Reply

